The Rainy Day Musings:

        The Ride Home

1.

I miss my grandmother

She made homemade biscuits cut from a mason jar

I make Pillsbury

2.

Hip Hop Hooray. Hooo. Hey!

My socks were scrunched, Bugs Bunny‘s pants sagged on my t-shirt

We weren’t naughty by nature, but in the streets we played next to broken bottles

…and homes

3.

3 o’clock traffic

square windows

so many lives

4.

On the radio, Cee-Lo crooned “Fuck You

She urged the light to stay green

but this isn’t about urgency, but patience

because I secretly agreed, it was a long light

5.

It was a 5 car pile up

one of the cars was brand new

fresh off the adjacent lot

He shoulda been a gambler

Driven with Lady Luck

6.

The accident was horrific

but I guess you can’t plan some things

like the policemen’s blinking lights

but someone flipped the switch

7.

People at bus stops

remind me of fallen leaves

forgotten until someone or something picks them up

8.

I avoided eye contact with the homeless man

I had food and shelter

He had petty cash

9.

Sign said Sunshine Laundromat

It was empty inside

Guess they don’t watch the weather channel

10.

When your hands are cold

You can always count on the back of your thighs

to warm them

Leave a comment

Filed under Explore

Leave a Reply

