Bone Deep

Blue is

the color of

my heartbreak

cold
so cold
don’t

think

I’ll crave warmth anymore

I’d

Rather

Sleep

alone…

than give my love

don’t think I’ll crave warmth

with anyone

I’d
rather
sleep
alone
feel cold
then hog all the sheets

than worry about another

loving me

butchering me
cut to the bone
the white meat
defeat

and yeah, we all gotta pay our dues
even Billie sang the blues
so I guess I gotta walk
in her suede shoes
t

rip

p

i

ng
over
you


waiting on the pain to go away
like a rainy day
but
I waited for you
I
waded
for
you
went through all I went through
just to appreciate someone like you
funny, because you waited too…
makes it hard to pick the bigger fool
both rushing to use
maybe that’s why we crashed and bruised
I’m still bleeding you a river
ru

n

s down my face

never leaves a trace

that I’m flooded and overwhelmed

I’ve gotten good
I’ve become an old veteran
at pretending I’m whole

[no one notices]
I’m black
and blue
fighting my feelings for you
hating you
missing you
loving you
wanting you
resenting you

[no one knows]
I’m black
and blue
fighting the

ain’t gots
ain’t got no you
ain’t no you
almost sick with it
Miles Davis Blue in Green
a silent putrid thing
melancholy riffs
lingering
tugging at my heart strings
need to cry but
my well is dry


I’m
cold
so cold
don’t think

I’ll crave warmth anymore


I’d
rather
sleep
alone
than
give my love
don’t think I’ll crave warmth

with anyone


I’d

rather

sleep


alone…


feel cold


then hog all the sheets
than worry about

another loving me
butchering me
cut to the bone
the white meat

by Kimberley Gladney©

2 Comments

Filed under Grow

2 responses to “Bone Deep

  1. 1markt

    there’s a surety in being sequestered to self and if self was all that was needed that would be okay, but it’s not. If love was perfect then we would only need one, but then if we were not mistaken of or for love, at one time or another, would we be worthy of receiving it or giving it. Just a qustion that comes to mind as I read your poem and the sense of protecting yourself from falling to mistake rather than having to give yourself to one that would be unworthy of the true and beautiful you that shouldn’t have to be compromised by the immediate gratification of shallow lust, I understand that it would be easier to leave that alone, than suffer the consequence of being mislead.

    • Oh yes, we become very jaded when we hurt. We make hollow promises and empty threat of “never loving again!” only to jump back into the fray with the hope that this time it won’t end in pain. I’m a hopeless romantic. I’ll never give up on love. But the poem is still real and valid. Some never give in to love again and sometimes when we’re suffering heartache we feel it will never get better.

Leave a Reply

